Voice of the Grandmothers

I hear the voice of my grandmothers calling me
I hear the voice of my grandmothers song/call

They say wake up wake up, they say wake up wake up

Listen Listen
Listen Listen

May the rivers all run clear
May the mts go unspoken
May the air be pure
May the trees grow tall
May the earth be shared be all

They say wake up wake up, they say wake up wake up

Listen Listen
Listen Listen

May the children all run free
May the circle be unbroken
May the walls fall down
And the fire burn
From this family we shall learn

2 Comments

  1. Karen Stingle said,

    July 30, 2012 at 6:28 am

    Written by Sandy Vaughn of Tonasket, WA, with words added by the folk process. Her original words, for example (in my estimation better): May the mountains be unspoiled

  2. Karen Stingle said,

    September 13, 2014 at 5:24 am

    Also, that last verse, which doesn’t make a lot of sense to me, is not Sandy’s. While I love it that this song has become part of the folk process, some of the changes and additions I have heard over the years take away from, rather than add to, her original song, which is simple and beautiful in itself.

    And please change that line about the mountains. It makes no sense.


Leave a Reply

